Subscribe to our Newsletter

click to dowload our latest edition

Wacky World

Mazeltov, my good Rabbi




Rabbi Mark Winer, a British subject and a US citizen, is believed to be the first American Rabbi to be honoured as a Member of the Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth II.

SAUPJ chair, Steve Lurie, and SAAPR chair Rabbi Robert Jacobs have co-signed a letter congratulating Rabbi Winer.

“On behalf of the South African Union of Progressive Judaism and the South African Association of Progressive Rabbis we would like to wish you a hearty mazel tov on being made a Member of the Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth II, marking your important work in Interfaith Relations toward mutual respect and understanding, fighting hate and violence in the world,” wrote the two South African Progressive leaders.

“We wish you all the success this title may bring you in achieving your person goals,” they added, “and those of the Foundation to Advance Interfaith Trust and Harmony (FAITH).”

Winer, 71, received the honour for services to interfaith dialogue and social cohesion in the United Kingdom. He said in a statement that he was “humbled and thrilled” to accept the honour.

Queen and Rabbi Winer
PICTURED RIGHT: Rabbi Winer was accompanied by his wife when he received his award


For 30 years, he led congregations in the United States before moving to London in 1998. There, he spent 12 years as senior Rabbi of the Reform West London Synagogue of British Jews. Winer is founder of the international interfaith charitable initiative FAITH, The Foundation to Advance Interfaith Trust and Harmony.

British Rabbi Herschel Gluck, founder of the Muslim-Jewish Forum, also received an OBE for services to interfaith understanding.

Another American-born recipient of the OBE award is Brett Wigdortz, 39, for his efforts as founder of the education program Teach First.

Former chairman of England’s Football Association, David Bernstein, also received the honour for his services in sports. Bernstein, 70, is also the former chairman of the Manchester City Football Club.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.